Board of Directors

The Board of Directors* is responsible for the group's system of corporate governance and is ultimately accountable for the group's activities, strategy, risk management and financial performance.

The Chief Executive Officer is responsible for the management of the business and is assisted by the Corporate Executive Team.

Membership of board committees
Board member Audit & Risk Corporate administration and transactions Corporate responsibility Nominations Remuneration Science
Sir Philip Hampton   Member   Chairman    
Emma Walmsley   Member        
Simon Dingemans   Member        
Professor Sir Roy Anderson   Member Member Member   Member
Manvinder Singh (Vindi) Banga Member  Member    Member  Member  
Dr Patrick Vallance   Member        
Dr Vivienne Cox   Member Member    Member  
Lynn Elsenhans Member Member Chair Member    
Dr Jesse Goodman   Member Member     Chairman
Judy Lewent Chair Member   Member Member Member
Urs Rohner   Member   Member Chairman  

*On joining the Board as an Independent Non-Executive Director with effect from 1 September 2017, Dr Laurie Glimcher will become a member of the Science and Audit & Risk Committees.